Team-mates to fight for victory in Japan
14 Sep 2017 - Team Release

Team MRF drivers Ole Christian Veiby and Gaurav Gill will continue their battle for the Asia Pacific Rally Championship at this weekend’s Rally Hokkaido in Japan. With two wins to his team-mate’s one, Norway’s Veiby starts the rally with a 10 point lead in the championship, and comes to Japan as a Rally Hokkaido novice, which may give the advantage to his Indian team-mate.

The Race Torque prepared Skoda Fabia R5s have been the class of the field again this year with a one-two finish in all three rounds, and the team are determined to continue that trend. Veiby had a brand new Fabia R5 last time out in Malaysia, and for this event Gill’s Skoda will sport a fresh engine. The cars will have a slightly different set-up for this rally, with many of the stages held on fast public roads that are quite heavy with gravel.

“Japan’s a tricky event, with lots of blind corners that are hidden with heavy bushes,” team boss Lane Heenan said. “We’ve seen in the past that if you’re fast here first time out, you’re really good, so we expect ‘OC’ to be on the pace.

“But having said that, Gaurav’s comeback to finish second in Malaysia was something special, and with his experience in Japan he’ll be going all out for the win to try and reduce the championship gap. “As always, there’ll be no team orders and our drivers will be going flat out trying to beat each other.”

After a short spectator stage gets Rally Hokkaido underway on Friday night, competitors face a further 10 stages on Saturday over a competitive distance of 122km. On Sunday, another seven stages complete the event, with the rally’s longest stage – the 29km New Ashoro Long – to be held twice.

Team MRF’s main rivals will once again be a pair of Mitsubishi Mirages in the hands of Jari Ketomaa (Finland) and Robert Bloomberg (Sweden), with New Zealander Mike Young driving a Toyota Vitz (Yaris) for the first time.

The event has a strong contingent of Japanese competitors, including a third Skoda Fabia R5, driven by Yuya Sumiyama.

Follow Rally Hokkaido via the official event website at

APRC points after 3 of 5 rounds:
1. Ole Christan Veiby, 108 points
2. Gaurav Gill, 98
3. Jari Ketomaa, 56
4. Robert Bloomberg, 50
5. P.G. Abhilash, 25

Latest news

New Format for 2019 APRC

China Rally - Return to the Concrete Jungle

Sumiyama and Yasui - 2018 APRC Champions

Hokkaido Rally set to run despite earthquake tragedy

Kopecký fights back to win WRC2 Germany

Seven New Drivers from Japan Register for APRC

APRC looks ahead to 2019. India’s Chandhok re-elected President

Cusco Team 1st and 2nd in Malaysia

Will it be a wet Malaysian Rally?

National Competitors Encouraged to enter their home APRC Event