Paddon takes commanding lead after first day of International Rally of Whangarei
5 May 2018 - Event Release

New Zealand WRC driver Hayden Paddon and co-driver Mal Peden park their Hyundai after today’s eight special stages at the ENEOS International Rally of Whangarei holding an advantage of 4m02.4sec. Wanaka’s Hayden Paddon and co-driver Mal Peden park their Hyundai after today’s eight special stages at the ENEOS International Rally of Whangarei holding an advantage of 4m02.4sec

Placed second at the overnight halt is Ben Hunt and Tony Rawstorn in a Subaru while third is Emma Gilmour and Anthony McLoughlin in a Suzuki. Opening the six-round FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) and the second round of the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship (NZRC), the event is contested across 277km of fast flowing Northland New Zealand roads.

Starting Friday night with a double-run of a 1km long Super Special Stage. Paddon set the scene, taking a near 5sec lead into today’s eight high-speed tests, held north of host city Whangarei. Autumnal weather conditions included fog for the opening stages set north of host city Whangarei, causing angst for some.

While Paddon added a further 38sec on the field after the opening test, it caught out Australian pairing Richie Dalton and Dale Moscat who left the road at speed

Mechanical issues then slowed leading international entry Mike Young and Malcom Read in the Toyota Vitz, eventually grinding them to a halt mid-morning after sitting second overall behind Paddon

The journey returned the teams to Whangarei for a midday service break before repeating the loop of stages in the afternoon. Paddon again set fastest time in each test to stretch his advantage

Italy’s Fabio Frisiero and Simone Scattolin in the Peugeot head the international field, 19th overall with Yuya Sumiyama and Takahiro Yasui from Japan 21st, in a Skoda

“I’ve been really happy with how today has gone. We were trying to look after the tyres this afternoon and manage the through the stages with them. Its been a really enjoyable day and everything has gone according to plan. With the slightly different stages tomorrow we will hopefully manage to keep pushing on and hopefully maintain what we have gotten from today,” said Paddon after the day’s action

Paddon won the event in 2007, 2009 and 2010. “This afternoon has gone a lot better on the second time through. It’s been a surprise to be leading international but we’re happy,” said Frisiero. “As the day has gone on our confidence got better. Our feeling for the car got better and so did the grip. Hopefully we will be able to keep it going for tomorrow.

With the pleasant weather set to continue; Sunday’s remaining eight stages take the teams south of Whangarei. Starting at 7am the journey heads south through Waipu Caves and Millbrook areas before heading west and north through Waiotira and back to Whangarei for a service break mid-morning. Following the late morning earlyafternoon repeat run the cars then arrive back in Whangarei for the ceremonial finish, held at the Quayside Town Basin from 3pm.

ENEOS International Rally of Whangarei - top-ten overall (provisional) Pos, No., Driver / Co-driver, Vehicle, Time 1, 5, Hayden Paddon / Malcolm Peden, Hyundai i20 AP4 1:34:56.2 2, 7, Ben Hunt / Tony Rawstorn, Subaru WRX Sti +04:02.4 3, 31, Emma Gilmour / Anthony McLoughlin, Suzuki Swift +05:03.3 4, 6, Nathan Quinn / David Calder, Ford Fiesta R5 +05:08.5 5, 9, Dylan Turner / Sarah Brennan, Audi Quattro S1 AP4 +05:16.4 6, 14, Graham Featherstone / Dave Devonport Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 7 +06:04.2 7, 12, Josh Marston / Andrew Graves Holden Barina AP4 +06:12.0 8, 34, Grant Blackberry / Ric Chalmers, Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 10 +07:27.5 9, 32, Geof Argyle / Joelle Eyre, Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 8 +08:00.7 10, 33, Matthew Jensen / Kieran Anstis, Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 9 +08:07.1

Latest news

New Format for 2019 APRC

China Rally - Return to the Concrete Jungle

Sumiyama and Yasui - 2018 APRC Champions

Hokkaido Rally set to run despite earthquake tragedy

Kopecký fights back to win WRC2 Germany

Seven New Drivers from Japan Register for APRC

APRC looks ahead to 2019. India’s Chandhok re-elected President

Cusco Team 1st and 2nd in Malaysia

Will it be a wet Malaysian Rally?

National Competitors Encouraged to enter their home APRC Event