2017 APRC - A Tight Fight for the Championship
2 Jan 2018 - Brian Young - APSM

As we head into 2018 and the APRC’s 30th anniversary (1988 – 2018), here’s a quick look back at the highlights from 2017 FIA APRC.

The battle through the season between MRF Skoda team-mates Gaurav Gill (India) and Ole Christian Veiby (Norway) would have to be one of the best in years, while they didn’t have it all their own way with Jarri Ketomaa (Finland) always a threat in his Mitsubishi Mirage.

Ketomaa’s MPart team-mate Robert Blomberg (Sweden) drove consistently to finish 3rd in the points while PG Abilash (India) was 5th and won the APRC Production Cup.

Several drivers chose to do selected events including Fuyuhiko Takahashi (Japan) who shared the APRC 2 Pacific Cup win with Abilash, Yuya Sumiyama (Japan) who debuted Cusco’s R5 Skoda Fabia at Malaysia and Japan, Mike Young (New Zealand) who drove four different cars through the season including a development R2 Volkswagen Polo in India and Sanjay Takale (India) who took delivery of his new Mitsubishi Mirage in Malaysia.

The diversity of driver nationalities in 2017 was great to see with competitors from Finland, Norway, Sweden, Japan, New Zealand and the increasing interest from India with 3 representatives.

Latest news

New Format for 2019 APRC

China Rally - Return to the Concrete Jungle

Sumiyama and Yasui - 2018 APRC Champions

Hokkaido Rally set to run despite earthquake tragedy

Kopecký fights back to win WRC2 Germany

Seven New Drivers from Japan Register for APRC

APRC looks ahead to 2019. India’s Chandhok re-elected President

Cusco Team 1st and 2nd in Malaysia

Will it be a wet Malaysian Rally?

National Competitors Encouraged to enter their home APRC Event